Mints and mintmarks of India

Mints and mint marks of India

A mint is a place where coins are made or minted and mint-mark is a letter or symbol engraved on coins. All the coins produced has mint and mint mark.

In India, there are four places where the coins are minted they are :-

  • Calcutta or Kolkata,
  • Mumbai or Bombay,
  • Hyderabad
  • Noida near New Delhi.

Among all , Calcutta or Kolkata; and Mumbai or Bombay are the earliest mints established in India. Kolkata/Calcutta mint was the first mint established in India in 1757. Since it was the first mint, there was no mint mark. Hyderabad was the third mint, followed by Noida near New Delhi. In 1772, Calcutta became the capital of British India.

In 1948, the State of Hyderabad came under the control of India. In 1957, The Government of India introduced decimal coinage in India and soon started producing 1 Paisa, 2 Paisa, 3 Paisa, 5 Paisa, 10 Paisa, 25 Paisa, and 50 Paisa were taken up.

In the year 2006, the Government of India decided to
Corporatise all the Mints & stamps; Presses under the banner named Security Printing & Minting
Corporation of India Ltd

In 1948, the State of Hyderabad (now under Andra Pradesh) came under the control of the Government of India. Hyderabad Mint was under the control of Bombay Mint from 1948 to 1962 until Shri B.S. Ayer took charge of Hyderabad Mint as Master of Mint.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,